Bamburgh Lighthouse
Current Version Built:
Height (ft):
Sir Thomas Matthews
Trinity House

Bamburgh Lighthouse, notable for being Englands furthest north Trinity House light station, is located just over a mile north of the famous and picturesque castle.

The small walled compound on Black Rock Point was built for Trinity House in 1910 and contained a skeletal steel tower with enclosed service room and lantern, very similar to the lighthouse at Peninnis, albeit shorter. Next to the original lighthouse was a large building with a roof designed for water catchment, which could be used to generate acetylene gas to power the light - this building now serves as the lighthouse.

An extensive refit in 1975 saw the removal and scrapping of the original lighthouse, with the adjacent building being reutilized as a tower, and a new lantern built atop it, which contains a large fixed fresnel lens. The light was converted to electic operation at this time, but it is not clear whether the lens is from the original lighthouse or not. The footprint of the original tower is still visible inside the walled area.

The light occults once every 15 seconds and shows a white light with red and green sectors, visible for 17, 13 and 13 nautical miles respectively.

A local attendant maintains the light, which like all Trinity House lights is monitered remotely from their main depot in Harwich, Essex.